The newest finished project-Julee’s dress

It has been 13 years since I sewed a dress for my youngest daughter.  She’s so much fun to sew for, but she hasn’t lived at home for quite some time and it’s hard to sew for someone who’s not around for fittings.  So we picked out a couple of summery patterns last fall and one of them came to fruition recently.  She humored me by putting it on and posing yesterday while freezing her *** off as snow and sleet were falling outside.  It’s not really that cold INSIDE my house, but it wasn’t exactly toasty either.

So here she is looking fine and ready for barbeques and spring festivals.  Bring ’em on!

100_0159

It’s hard to tell from the pics, but the main fabric is a crinkled eyelet and the embroidery has some sheen.  We had to line it because of the holes, and she decided she wanted the lining to show as an extra detail at the hem.  I think it turned out nicely.  Because it is lined with nice cotton, she doesn’t have to worry about a slip, and it should be cool and comfortable on hot days.  Ahh, I’m dreaming about hot days. 

I have been doing a lot of reading about couture hand sewing practices and decided to try some techniques with this rather inexpensive dress, just to see how it would do.  I am pleased to say that I did a “handpicked” zipper and that the skirt portion of the lining was also sewn in by hand.  The inside of this dress looks almost as good as the outside and the zipper is almost invisible.  The tiny hand stitches just blended right into the crinkled texture. 

100_0162

100_0164

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Albert C
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 19:54:44

    Judi –
    Beautiful dress, and Julee is a beautiful young woman.

    Of course, my sewing skills are limited to stitching a missing button back onto a shirt or coat – and I’ve been known to let the dry-cleaner do it for me (!)

    Hope you’re surviving this late-winter weather!

    Cousin Al

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 22:29:58

    Thanks, Al. Yes, it’s been ugly here. We broke a record last night for low temps here. We only got about 5″ of snow, but the sleet and freezing stuff underneath made it treacherous and schools have been closed for a couple of days.

    Don’t blame you about using the dry cleaner to do coat buttons. I just replaced all of them (10) on Julee’s coat because we couldn’t find any that matched what she had. Bummer.

  3. Julee
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 01:21:18

    I Love it I love it I love it! You did a beautiful job and I can’t wait for those barbecues. I do look a little pissed off in that second picture – I was cold! Oh well. Dress looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

