In Love with a Tree

This tree is one that leaves me breathless every spring when it blooms its lovely pink cloud. I am awestruck every morning in April as I see it on my way to work. It is almost as lovely when it turns green, and then I get to enjoy it’s grandeur until late fall.

100_0281

I actually remembered to bring my camera last week and got this closeup.

100_02791

I will try to remember to update you with a photo of this gorgeous queen of trees when she puts on her summer dress.  The only tree I know that gives me as much pleasure as this one is in my own backyard.  It’s a willow oak that was big enough/small enough for my kids to climb when we moved here over 20 years ago. It is now so large that it’s going to be hard to photograph it while staying in my own yard.  I may have to visit the neighbors to get the picture.  It sheds awfully in the spring when it drops it’s little “podlets” and the leaves jam up the guttering and cover the deck in the fall, along with a bajillion tiny acorns, but I don’t care. It gives graceful shade, a lovely rustle-y sound when the breeze blows and it has sheltered countless generations of birds.  It’s a peaceful pleasure for me.  Jim doesn’t even gripe about cleaning up the dead branches when the wind knocks them off. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. viktoryian
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 04:17:48

    You are lucky over there to see such a beauty on your way to work!
    ViktoryiaN

  2. Julee
    May 02, 2009 @ 02:37:50

    As one of the former tree-climbers, I can concur with my mother on this one. Our back-yard tree is part of some of my wonderful childhood memories and I love to listen to the breeze in its leaves, too. And I know EXACTLY which other tree you photographed, Mom! It is very pretty indeed, we are as blessed as its owners to see it everyday.

Leave a Reply

