Woo Hoo! Relief and radishes.

Around twilight last night we had a doozy of a thunderstorm, with strong winds and hail.  I was very worried about my veggies, but they not only survived, they look terrific with the much-needed rain that came.  I’m talking about what husband calls a “frog strangler.”  Luckily, none of it lasted too long and all the greenery seems to be happy.  See for yourself.

100_0341

My radishes are not only ready to be picked, many are just laying on the ground waiting to be picked up.  Woo hoo!  Our first home grown food of the season.

100_0343

100_0344

Tomatoes are now big enough that we are caging them, the potatoes are doing great and are being mounded.   I probably will get some straw mulch on them over the weekend.  I saw my first potato beetle today, so I’ll have to really check into how to control that organically, if possible. Husband does not want to put wood mulch on other plants, so if I have more straw than I need for the potatoes, I may use it on some of the other slow-growing veggies that need to stay in the ground longer.

Encouraged by my young cyber friend, Jenna Woginrich, from Cold Antler Farm blog, I am going to try to learn “mountain fiddling” via a book and CD this summer.  We already had a violin in the house, so with a minimal outlay of funds and at least 15 min. per day of practice, I’m supposed to be able to actually play something entertaining by late summer.  I’m skeptical, but excited.  I’ll keep you posted, but you won’t be wanting any sound bites, I’m sure.  🙂

Trying to finish up a dress for Julee that I’ve been fiddling with (no pun intended) for months. It is gorgeous and she will be lovely in it, but it’s been a pain to fit correctly.  Will post photos soon.

If you haven’t seen the new Star Trek movie, I highly recommend it.  I agree with a reviewer who said that even people who are not fans of the Star Trek series would like this movie.  Of course,  knowing the future of the characters (this is a “prequel”) makes it more interesting, so those of us that have followed the series from the early t.v. days (no I’m not a Trekkie, but I was still at home with my parents when the original series started–yes, I’m old–and they watched it.)  are more or less in on a private family joke, if you can understand that.

I thought the young characters were very true to form for their older counterparts.  And the young Spock was actually very sexy in a way I can’t even explain (and yes, I’m old enough to be his mother–don’t care–it’s MY fantasy, not his.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenna
    May 31, 2009 @ 14:48:49

    You’ll be playing Run Johnny Run in three weeks! Have fun!

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    May 31, 2009 @ 16:41:35

    Thanks Jenna! So cool that you checked out my little blog.

    White Feather/AKA Chickadee Workshop

Leave a Reply

