Rice Pudding

Husband is recovering from oral surgery and is mostly eating puddings, ice cream, milkshakes and smoothies.  Today we were allowed to add some warm foods, so soup was made, too.  I’ll post about my radish top soup in a day or two, but I wanted to show you this before it got eaten!

100_0347

I’m not a fan of rice pudding, myself, but I decided that, since it’s one of his favorites, he deserved to have the “real thing” while he was so limited in choices of food he could get down.  I have actually cheated  (once) and made Jello Cook and Serve  vanilla pudding and added cooked Minute Rice and raisins to it.  He thought it was great, but it really didn’t have the true flavor and the right texture of homemade rice pudding.  I tasted this one myself when it was done to make sure it was okay, and it really is a whole different animal.

I used the recipe on a bag of jasmine rice that called for 1/2 regular whole milk and 1/2 coconut milk.  If you try this, make sure you use coconut MILK and not coconut juice (a beverage)  or creme (a thickened mixture for making coladas.)  This stuff takes a full hour of stove top cooking, stirring it occasionally and then adding the sugar and vanilla at the end.  Raisins are optional (but not according to Jim.)  The jasmine rice makes such a smooth, creamy texture that it’s almost like tapioca.

I’m sure he’ll be working on this stuff tomorrow.  He’s already sick of ice cream. He misses crusty bread and MEAT!

UPDATE: Jim ate a TON of this stuff today and pronounced it to be the absolute best rice pudding he’s ever had. That makes it worth the time and effort. 🙂

Leave a Reply

