Summer Toes, Music…maybe, and a fond farewell

Well, sometime in the future there MAY be real music coming from this humble student violin.

100_0371

And yes, I realize it is missing an E string.  I broke it myself trying to tune it.  I decided to replace all the strings, anyway, since they are about 11 years old.  So I’m waiting for them to arrive (ordered an extra E string, too, since they are the easiest ones to snap), but nothing is keeping me from practicing my D scale, since I only need the D and A strings to do so.

I have been inspired, challenged and encouraged by Jenna Wogenrich (author of Made from Scratch and her blog at Cold Antler Farm) to learn to be a fiddler in the tradition of old time mountain musicians.  I’ve never played an instrument, always wanted to and heck, what have I got to lose?  So I took Jenna’s summer fiddling challenge and I’m giving it my best shot.  I promised only 15 minutes a day and so far, I’m sticking with it.  Jim isn’t complaining about the squawks and squeaks and today the cat even slept through it less than 2 feet away from me on the sofa.  Probably good that we don’t have a dog, though.  It’s definitely an assault on the senses at this point.  But hey, there’s nowhere to go but up, right?  I’m definitely motivated to get better, since I have to hear it myself 😦

I got my twice-yearly pedicure today, which always makes me happy.  I never had one of these in my entire life until last year, but at $20 I figure it’s a luxury I can afford a couple of times a year.  With a minimum of touch-up filing in between, it gets me through the sandal months and the rest of the time I do it myself if I care to have them polished.  But 20 minutes in a chair with a massaging back and someone taking care of the clipping, filing, exfoliating and precision polishing job, not to mention a foot and lower leg massage??….. I think I’m worth it once in awhile.

100_0369

In other news, not so pleasant, my husband’s mother passed away today.  It was not unexpected and she was 84, but he is hurting nonetheless.  He and other family members spent many hours with her today and she was not in pain, nor was she alone when she passed, which is always a better thing.

In the almost 38 years of our marriage, my mother-in-law never gave me a moment’s distress as far as unwanted advice or interference.  She loved and valued our children and they loved her in return.  She was always pleasant and welcoming to me.  For all those reasons I say a huge thank you and loving farewell to Anna Mae Faulkner.  May she rest in peace and know she was loved.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyseeds
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 19:01:27

    how is the fiddling going? i am sorry to hear about your loss…i hope that you are finding comfort in each other at this time….

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 22:48:55

    Thanks, journeyseeds. My husband is doing well with this loss and we always do comfort each other when we are in distress. He is my best friend and I am his. We’re lucky that way.

    Fiddling is coming slowly. My biggest problem so far is keeping the bow on the D string only. There certainly isn’t much leeway for that and I can get it sometimes, but not consistently. If you have any tips, I’d appreciate it. Daughter just says, “it comes with practice.” So I’m keeping at it. I managed to play the first line of Joy to the World….badly….last night, LOL! I also hate the way my fiddle sounds on the E, F# and G played on the D string. I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong, but they just sound awful to me. I don’t have that problem on the A string using the same fingers.

Leave a Reply

