Thrifted treasures

Last Saturday was a great day at the flea market and these were my wonderful finds!

100_0571

This great picnic basket was not a high quality one, and there are no special pockets or holders inside, but it’s a great container, nonetheless, and in good condition.  It was a steal at $5.

100_0565

Laid across the basket is a vintage tablecloth of the type and colors I adore.  It is in nearly pristine condition….one tiny stain that I might be able to get out and no holes or ragged edges.  $10 was a great price.

A close up of the detail:

100_0568

The next is a small skirt (junior sizing I guess) of wonderful printed eyelet with ribbon details and embroidered, scalloped edging on the skirt ruffle.

100_0569

In the next photo you can see the detail of the edging better.

100_0570

What I don’t think shows up on these is that the fabric is actually very pale pink and so is the lining, which makes me think that it was actually white and, when washed, the red trims bled out and stained the white fabrics this pale color.  Since it is very even, it looks like it was meant to be that color, so it works for me. 

Obviously this tiny skirt would fit one of my thighs, so I envision the fabrics used in other ways; maybe baby bonnets or even tiny dresses.

The tablecloth can be used in ways too numerous to mention; most likely for pillows or kitchen decor, but possibly small handbags, clutches or zipped change purses.

If I keep collecting fabrics this way, I expect to have tons of variety to work with when I retire and begin making my handcrafted items to sell.  The best thing is that it’s recycling and re-creating.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 00:56:25

    Welcome back!

    I like that tablecloth. I think I have one similar to it–I got it in a box lot of stuff at an auction a while back. The skirt is cute too! And picnic baskets are always useful things. 🙂

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 01:54:31

    Thanks, I was very excited that day. Sometimes I go and come out with nothing, but I had two Saturdays in a row of fantastic stuff. What I loved about the tablecloth is it’s like-new condition. Buy that in an antiques mall for $10! I have one like it, too, that was my mother’s. Made it into a curtain to cover a storage cube, but had to cut out stains and holes.

  3. Deb
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 17:41:58

    Love the tablecloth! I want to make some vintage aprons for Christmas gifts and I’m hoping to find some vintage linens to repurpose—the table cloth would be perfect. You’ve motivated me to start looking!

    Btw, linked to you from the CAF forum.

    Cheers

  4. chickadeeworkshop
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 22:39:59

    Thanks, Deb. Definitely try flea markets, yard sales and thrift shops. Antique stores/malls are outrageous in their pricing.

Leave a Reply

