Just Peachy

A thing of beauty:

100_0584

and….uh….not so much:

100_0588

My first peach jam ever seems to be successful.  Try not to notice the bubbles I missed.  I got 8 half pints out of it, so I’m happy.

The doll is a grubby thing in a dirty dress that I found at the flea market today.  She is otherwise in good condition and will join a basketful of such babies that I have saved for retirement time, when I will refurbish and redress them, then either sell them or give them to charities.  I cannot resist a dirty baby doll that just needs some T.L.C.

Gotta get back to the kitchen to make another batch of peach jam.  I’m feeling sooooo good about this. Later…..

Update 9/16/09 : I’m happy my little doll came out looking so nice after a very thorough scrubbing and a turn through the washer for her dress.

100_0593

Eventually, she will also have a new bonnet, panties and booties, but for now, at least she looks clean and happy….just possibly, um…. “drafty?”

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brother John
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 14:01:31

    You know, I’ve heard that properly boxed, peach jam actually travels very well.

    So I’ve heard.

    🙂

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 14:30:06

    Have ya heard that, really? Hmmmm, wonder where I could send some….:-)

  3. Brother John
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 21:16:38

    Just kidding –

    you know if I really wanted some I’d drive up there and knock on your door carrying some English muffins.

  4. chickadeeworkshop
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 00:08:11

    Uh, yeah, they say that people travel well, too, and don’t have to be “boxed.” Knock on my door anytime as long as you’re bringing food. English muffins were the first thing that I sampled with my jam.

  5. Jen
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 01:01:01

    Lovely! (The jam, at least.)

    The doll will be lovely eventually, I’m sure. 🙂

  6. chickadeeworkshop
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 03:05:55

    Thanks, Jen. The 2nd batch came out just as nicely. I already gave two half pints away as a thank you to my son and a friend who helped move a futon today for us.

    BTW, do you know what happens if you leave bubbles in it? My book says “you must remove them” but doesn’t say why or what bad thing happens.

  7. Jen
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 12:06:56

    If there are too many bubbles, the jam might crystallize if not used up fairly quickly, but I don’t think you had too many bubbles at all. Sometimes it’s impossible to get them all out!

  8. chickadeeworkshop
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 15:55:02

    Ahhh, I see. Thanks for the info.

  9. Deb
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 17:39:30

    The peach jam looks yummy! It is definately on my list of things to try this year. What recipe did you use?? I’m thinking of just using the one out of the Ball Canning Book.

  10. chickadeeworkshop
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 22:36:08

    That’s exactly what I used. Peaches, sugar, pectin–it was very quick and easy…..not counting the jarring it up and processing of course, and the peeling and chopping. I chopped mine while it was still attached to the stone. Much easier than having ripe peach chunks sliding all over the board. If you need me to explain, let me know.

    The book is very adamant about not substiting a different form of pectin (they called for liquid) and I had to go to 3 grocery stores before I found it. A hassle, but now I know for the future.

Leave a Reply

