Is it just a bit….odd?….

Sunday morning treasure hunting netted me a 100-year-old song book, which is totally falling to pieces.

005

I bought this with the idea that I could find some good old songs for future fiddling.  I’ve already found quite a few familiar tunes, just doing a quick look-through.  This book is arguably a treasure, but for me there is no question at all.

The next purchase was a Hamilton Beach hand mixer, still with its original box and manual and a warranty that says it was purchased on 8/8/67. 

010

It works perfectly and I paid $2 for it.  My own small mixer was having trouble with the beaters and even though Jim thinks he can fix it, I didn’t want to to chance being without one. I have a huge KitchenAid stand mixer, but there are some jobs just too ridiculously small for it and $2.00 was cheap insurance.  Can you imagine an inexpensive mixer made today that will still be working in 42 years?  This one still had a sticker on it that said it was guaranteed for 5 years and it even had a screw still in a sealed plastic bag that you can use to hang it up.  I’m sure it’s been sitting unused for a long time,  but still.  Incredible.

Now lets move along to later in the day.  We went to Best Buy and bought a brand new laptop–so new that it has Windows 7. 

003

002

Comcast doesn’t even have support for Windows 7 yet!   It will play CDs, DVDs (and burn them), load and play music and video downloads and basically do anything else I can do on my full-sized desktop computer…and do it FAST!  It even has a built in camera and microphone. I went back today and bought a wireless mouse because I couldn’t stand the built-in thing (even playing Solitare was causing me stress and that’s just wrong.)  I also bought a tray that sits in my lap comfortably and is big enough to use the mouse, so I can be totally lazy and decadent and sit in my recliner while I use it. In fact, this blog post is my first done entirely on the laptop, including downloading my photos right from my camera’s memory disk.  Way cool!  The only negative I’ve found with this new toy is the sound quality.  It’s really the pits. I may download for my iPod and I might burn an occasional CD, but I won’t be listening to my downloads on here or playing the CDs. 

Husband has recently become an online gamer and I have no problem with that.  He’s retired and he has earned the luxury of playing games for hours a day if he so desires.  HOWEVER, it was putting a serious crimp in my own computer time, so we moved up a purchase that was probably going to happen anyway when we put our camper in the mountains.  The Dell Inspiron laptop is my early Christmas gift (he said he might buy me some socks too 🙂 ) and I’m quite happy. Dude, I got a Dell!

However, all this being said, I thought about my Sunday purchases that night and had a bit of a laugh at what I had chosen in the space of about 3 hours.  One item 100 years old (the song book)….made during a time when the writers could not even have conceived of television, let alone computers; one item 42 years old–still very useful and practical in 2009; and an up-to-the-minute technological wonder called a laptop. 

015

I’m still trying to figure out if it’s ME that’s odd or just an odd set of circumstances.  I have my feet planted firmly in–uhhh—well—maybe one foot in the 1900’s and the other in 2009 (I’ve lost my iPod and I’m going crazy without it, for example.)  I believe I’m a typical fifty something.  We’ve seen two centuries and a huge technological growth spurt.  We also have a nostalgic interest in times before our own, which seem paradoxically romantic and simple.  Of course they were neither. I’m all over the map in my interests and passions. I don’t think I’m all that unusual, but then, maybe it’s just the internet “company” I keep.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brother John
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 02:26:19

    Toldja’ you’d need a wireless mouse. (Sticks tongue out at lil’ sister.)

    🙂

    You’ll find the sound is probably quite acceptable if you use earbuds/headset or you get external speakers for the laptop PC.

    Make sure that the laptop tray you got allows good air circulation under the laptop, too. These things can get hot and heat is not a friend of electronics.

    Otherwise, enjoy.

    John

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 01:30:08

    Yeah, yeah, you did. I just thought I’d give it a fair try but I truly hated it. having to use two hands to play Solitaire is totally ridiculous. Earbuds! Why didn’t I think of that? Thanks. Not going to buy speakers for this thing…..trying to keep it very portable and simple.

Leave a Reply

