Kinda busy, but good busy.

We DID get our camper and plunked it down in God’s country, which is St. Peter’s Rd, near Speedwell, VA.   We are a stone’s throw from Jefferson Nat’l Forest and the Appalachian trail.  The camper is not a beauty, but seems to be functional and will do what we need it to do for us, which is to keep us sheltered and give us a place to rest after soaking up the nature of the area all day long.  We will have a small deck with a grill and plan to cook as much as possible on it.  We do have a refrig/freezer, oven/range and teensy microwave and will use them when necessary, but I’m planning to keep the cooking to a minimum and very, very simple.

Our first trip was just to get the camper moved (we bought it in Roanoke) and we will be traveling back on April 30 to begin placing it on cinderblocks and making the necessary hookups to the electric there.  We also have some “fix ups” to do–mainly painting the frame and doing some beautification.  Maybe the next trip will take care of putting the deck on.  I don’t want hubby to go down there for a week and just work.  Might as well stay home!   So we will stay long enough to accomplish certain tasks and then enjoy ourselves for a couple of days….then go back again in a few weeks and finish the projects.  Hopefully, by the end of summer, it will be all relaxation and no planned projects.

These photos will show you why.

It was only one week into spring here, so not quite verdant yet, but oh, the sound of that water shooshing by was like a lullaby to my winter-weary soul. Can’t wait to get back there.

In other news, I got my birthday presents early, because we were there and they were there and well, hubby decided to just get them while I was there to pick out what I wanted.  So I have a brand new Nikon Cool Pix camera, with all the bells and whistles and a touch screen.  The photos are gorgeous and I will be showing them off soon. My older digital still works (though it eats batteries for breakfast, lunch and dinner) and hubby will use that one for when he’s out fishing and such and wants to take some shots for himself.  It has done a good job for me and I really didn’t take photos much while the kids were growing up.  I was too busy, and hubby did that.  I didn’t get interested in photography at all until I started documenting my garden and then starting using photos in this blog. 

I also got a new iPod Nano, which will hold 2000 songs, as opposed to my two year old one that only holds 500.  And yes, the old one has been filled and restored several times.  As soon as it hits its memory limit, you can’t add any more even if you delete a hundred, so that was kind of a pain.  I’ve replaced the earbuds twice, too.  The new one also has a radio and a camera, for about what I paid for my original one.  And it’s blue 🙂   So I’m happy.  Still learning about the camera and haven’t had a chance to even hook up the Nano yet, but maybe I’ll get a chance before my actual birthday, which is next week. 

This weekend is full of plans–a bull roast tomorrow with brother and sis-in-law and then on Sunday I’m taking the grandson to see Dragons.  Because I want to see it myself 🙂

Please, could someone tell me why, when you splurge on stuff (campers, trips, cameras, iPods, etc.)—that suddenly, your appliances all need repair?  In the past week we had to spend $100 on the refrigerator and $140 on the dryer.  I feel like I got smacked by the universe for spending money on pure enjoyment.  I must be punished by having to spend money to maintain necessary appliances.  Hope the car isn’t next.  Oh, no, that’s right.  We spent money on the car just before we splurged on everything else. 😦  Hope we are safe there.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Albert C. Jr
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 23:18:24

    Judi,

    It seelms that Murphy’s Law never leaves us – just when one is lulled into thinking everything is just great…. like your new camper and all your plans for it….something else comes up … like a nervous refrigerator and an itchy clothes dryer. As they say, “It’s always something”

    Congratulations – I know you are looking forward to your new vacation home.

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 00:43:54

    Oh, and I was incorrect. The car was not finished having problems. It cost us $150 and most of Jim’s day to have it fixed. It couldn’t be put off due to us needing it to take us back to VA at the end of next week. Sheesh.

  3. Kimberly / SeaMyst
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 12:44:06

    Judi –

    I miss you! Happy Birthday, sweet lady!

  4. chickadeeworkshop
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 23:24:40

    Oh, my! My dear friend! Haven’t talked with you in forever and here’s this lovely surprise on my birthday. Hope you are well. Will catch up with you soon when I have more than 3 seconds to spare.

Leave a Reply

