Shampoo experiment is a success.

One of the health/beauty items that I really have been wanting to make safer and more natural was the whole shampoo/conditioner issue.   I already tried the rather drastic method of baking soda for shampoo followed by an apple cider vinegar rinse and it was just NOT going to work for me.  It was messy and left my hair too dry and “crunchy.”   My hair is short and needs to be washed frequently or it is truly ugly, so I needed to find another solution.  I did!

My cyber friend, Sarah Rachelle, at Knotty Oak Homestead blog mentioned that she had been using Dr. Bronner’s liquid castile soap with a small amount of grapeseed oil added and that it had been satisfactory for her.  I decided to give it a try, so I found the Dr. Bronner’s at the grocery store (about $9 for a huge bottle) and the grapeseed oil at the health store.  It was rather expensive, but I only need a teaspoon or two for my shampoo, so it’s going to last a long, long time, assuming I don’t use it for anything else.   I used the soap made with hemp and it is very mildly and  pleasantly, natural-scented.  The grapeseed oil doesn’t seem to have any fragrance at all.   I doubled the recipe, but didn’t use twice the oil, as Sarah said it seemed to be too much for her. 

Success!!!  It’s perfect for me and wonder of wonders, even my husband likes it.   It is cheap, it is natural, and it contains no parabens or sodium laureth that are so dangerous for us to use on our skin.   It’s not often that I make a move to better, safer and cheaper and am this happy with it.  The recipe is simple:  1/4 c. Dr. Bronner’s liquid castile soap, 1/4 c. distilled water and 1 tsp. grapeseed (or jojoba) oil.   As I said, I doubled everything but the oil and it was perfect for me, but if you have really dry, or really long hair, you might want to go ahead with the doubled oil or at least 1- 1/2 tsp.   This is a personal preference issue.

I am not using a conditioner after this, but on occasion, if I do decide it’s time to condition, I’ll just use some sweet almond oil, also available in the health store.  I’ve been using it on my skin for a body moisturizer after showering and I love it.  No scent, just pure natural oil.

I’m still working on the non-paper “paper towels” project.  I had to find another source for birds-eye fabric, as the local Hancocks hasn’t gotten any for months and my first choice online ran out of their supply, also.  They must have been using the same supplier.  I left my order on backorder, as they were trying to find another supplier, but they contacted me a week ago and said the samples they had checked from a new supplier were not of acceptable quality, so I cancelled that order and found another online supplier.  The fabric wasn’t as wide, or as cheap, but I only needed two yards, so I bit the bullet and just did it.  I got my order in the mail today and I can tell it is not as good as what I bought locally before, but it’s apparently all I can get right now.   For my purposes, it’s good enough.  If I were diapering a baby with it, I would not be happy, but for drying my hands and wiping my counters, I don’t have to be that picky.

Addendum:  The shampoo can also be used as a body wash.  It is, after all, soap and oil. 

I will be making the rest of those towels up shortly, but right now, I’m slogging very slowly through the recovering of my booth cushions.  Two down; two to go.  Sigh. At least these last two only have two buttons each, instead of four, which helps immensely in both time and effort.

Leave a Reply

