Birthday celebration!

We had a great dinner out with brother, sis-in-law, and my daughter, Julee.  Then we came home for dessert and gifts and I was thrilled to have yellow tulips and a great foot cleaning thing from Julee.  Jim and Linda put together an amazing Birthday/Easter basket filled with so much stuff I can’t remember it all.  Lots of chocolate of the Godiva, Cadbury and Lindt types, bunnies, non-pariells (my favorite), eggs, etc…….even mousse mix in a box.   SOOO much chocolate!  There were also gorgeous plates, beautiful hair clips of the butterfly and flower types, a birthday fairy ornament, garden tools, a green enamel cast iron pan, cake spatula, candle, ceramic basket with more chocolate, small lovely pop-up book…..I’m sure I’m forgetting something.  Anyhow, I feel showered with love and chocolate and beautiful things.

 

OH!  And an amazing lemon meringue pie that is the most perfect one I’ve ever tasted.  Dave and Linda traveled to nearby Delaware to get my pie because it is so wonderful.  Oh my goodness….perfectly rich, sweet, tart, creamy lemon….equally perfect, fluffy meringue and a pastry crust that would remind you of eclairs from a French bakery.  I’ve never been to one, but I’m sure that’s what they are like.

The following are some images of the beautiful things.  My basket was already disassembled and stripped of several items by the time I got a photo, but you can get an idea of its fullness and feast for the eyes.

 

                    

                                                                                               

                                                  

  

Mmmmmmmmm pie.  Isn’t that meringue glorious?

I don’t know how to say what I’m feeling…..it isn’t the gifts, though heaven knows they are spectacular, but it is the idea that people love you enough to make extra efforts to give you what they know YOU will love and enjoy.  The beauty of the presentations and the idea that someone even went out of town to get me the most perfect lemon pie, knowing that it is one of my favorites–that is what gets to me.  The fact that all my gifts were a feast for the senses of sight, smell and taste tells me that people know what I like and take pleasure in giving it to me…..and that they love me.  Who wouldn’t feel happy about a birthday like that? 

So who cares if I’m 60?  I’m 60 and loved and that is a very good thing.

Leave a Reply

