Recital? Me????

When my violin teacher mentioned an upcoming recital, I was certain I was not going to be involved in any such thing.  I freeze up just playing for my teacher; how am I going to play in front of even more people?……lots of people!   I’m still petrified, but somewhere along the line, I’ve practiced my song enough to feel fairly confident I can play it all the way through on a good day and it doesn’t suck.  So Thursday I told her I would do it.  And then she said it was THIS Sunday!  EEEEEEEKKKK!!!!

I took some deep breaths and said okay.  Now I have to do it.  I made a committment.  She was so happy that I agreed and her mother came in and let me know she was proud of me, too.  Yeah.  Okay.  How proud will we all be if I get up there and freeze up and just plain sound like crap?  It’s been known to happen during my lessons.  All I can do at this point is practice about 16 more times between now and tomorrow night and hope that I’ll be more or less on “automatic pilot.”  

I’ve been told there are only 4 more regular students, plus my teacher’s siblings (4 or 5 of them.)  Of course, there will be parents, maybe aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings, etc.  After I’ve lived through this (I assume I WILL) I’ll report back here on how it went.  Oh, and I’m playing “Simple Gifts.”  Wish me luck!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 02:49:08

    I hope you please others and yourself at tomorrow’s recital! If you do experience a moment of terror or doubting yourself before your performance, it’ll just make it all the sweeter when you finish 🙂

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 17:40:29

    Thanks for the comment, Deborah. I’m hoping mine is one of the earliest ones, so I can relax and enjoy the rest of the students. They range from age 4 or 5 to me (age 60) and one other lady in her 50’s. Should be quite interesting.

Leave a Reply

