Peach-Blueberry Crisp

Oh my, this is good!  I mean REEEEEEALLY GOOD!   It is my favorite summer time dessert.  The recipe title calls this a “crisp,” though I’ve always seen the toppings for crisps include some oatmeal and usually nuts, and this has neither.  Perhaps it is more of a cobbler or a buckle.  At any rate, the topping is basically flour, sugar, butter and cinnamon, with a sprinkle of salt and then it is blended with a pastry blender and sprinkled over the peeled and sliced peaches.  I decided to substitute a cup of blueberries one year, as I was short on peaches and it turned out to be my favorite thing.  Feel free to use all peaches if you don’t like blueberries, or substitute another berry (I’m not fond of raspberries or blackberries, so I won’t.)

The photo was snapped just before we started scooping it out to eat.  Warm and with ice cream, of course!   Whipped cream, plain old cream….it’s all good.  Even cold and with vanilla yogurt if you’re a yogurt lover.  That would be healthier, but if you’re going for healthy, you should stick to the crisps that include oatmeal and nuts.  Seriously.  Or just sprinkle blueberries and peaches on your yogurt and skip the whole buttery topping.  This, however, is dessert.

This is a slighly wetter version than usually comes out, but the peaches were VERY ripe and juicy and I used more blueberries than usual, since I was a bit short on the peaches.  Feel free to experiment with your own proportions.

I wish I could give credit for this recipe where it is due, but I honestly don’t remember where I found it–probably on the internet several years ago.  At any rate, recipe follows:

PEACH CRISP

2 1/2 lbs fresh peaches, peeled, pitted and sliced (feel free to substitute berries for some of this, as you wish)

Topping:

1 cup sifted all-purpose flour; 1 cup sugar; 1/4 tsp. salt; 1/2 tsp. cinnamon; 1/2 cup soft butter (and don’t even THINK about using margarine, unless you want an oil slick on top!)

Preheat oven to 375.  Place fruit in 8″ buttered square baking dish. Sift together the dry ingredients of the topping and cut in butter till the mixture resembles coarse meal.  Sprinkle crumbs evenly over fruit.  Bake for 45 to 50 min., until topping is golden brown and peaches are tender.  Try really hard to let it cool down some before eating, because it WILL burn you.

Leave a Reply

