Tarragon Chicken!

Oh boy, was this good!  The wonderful Anneliese has a gorgeous blog called Aesthetic Nest.  You will note she is at the top of my list of favorite blogs.  Always a treat for the eyes, and frequently an inspiration for food and clothing.  I saw this post: http://www.aestheticnest.com/2011/09/cooking-tarragon-grilled-chicken-and.html awhile back and finally got around to trying it.  Please check out her link, as there are wonderful photos (much better than I could take!) and other intriguing recipes, as well. 

The prep was easy, just popped a few simple things together in a zip-loc with the chicken and let it marinate in the fridge for a few hours.  It was NOT a day for grilling outdoors today, so I dug out my stove top grill pan and fired it up for this one (George Foreman works fine for this, I’m sure.)  My chicken turned out absolutely delicious, tender, juicy and full of flavor.  I look forward to doing this next spring and summer, when the weather is nicer, so I can use the stove top for my Corn/Pepper/Orzo recipe, because that takes up most of the stove! 

For today, we had another new recipe I found in “Taste of Home” magazine.  It is Sweet Potato Wedges and they were cooked in the oven, which worked perfectly for today’s circumstances.  I am extremely slow and clumsy peeling and slicing sweet potatoes, so this is not something I would do often, but the results were outstanding.  The sweet potato wedges are coated in a briefly boiled mixture of balsamic vinegar, brown sugar, butter, sea salt and red pepper flakes, then spread out on a (foil lined!) shallow pan and baked at 400 for 45 minutes, turning every 15 minutes.  Sweet, savory, spicy…what else could you want?!   They were perfect with the chicken.  Since it’s just two for dinner here, I have enough of both the chicken (I made a lot!) and the potatoes for another dinner and who doesn’t love cooking once and eating twice?  Especially those of us that work during the week.

Currently in the works is a simple Halloween costume, which I plan to whip up before Monday, so I can wear it to work.  Will have a post with photos for you soon.  I haven’t worn a costume since I was about 12 years old.  Finding a pattern in my size was the difficulty.  I had no lack of ideas–just couldn’t find much that would fit me.  This works and you will soon see why!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julee
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 03:12:46

    Sounds so yummy! Did you wind up finishing your Halloween costume?

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 03:48:50

    Yes, I just didn’t get a photo yet….I’ll try to take care of that tomorrow and get it on here. And the chicken was amazingly good! We’ll try to invite you over for it sometime. It’s so incredibly easy and will be even easier when dad can do it on the outdoor grill. 😉

Leave a Reply

