Thanksgiving recap

We had a lovely time with family on the big day.  Just six of us, but that was fine, and we had tons of wonderful food.

The table looked like this before food and people:

I got a little bit more “Martha” than usual, just doing some simple things.  The centerpiece was not original; I’m pretty sure I saw that somewhere on Pinterest.  It’s just corn, dried kidney beans and lentils poured in around a candle I already owned.  Cheap and natural for some fall color.

The place cards are something I’ve never done before, and the download was free on Martha Stewart’s site.  I had the wonderful cardstock paper already, so this was totally free for me, except for a few minutes of time on the download and printing, and I got youngest daughter to cut them out for me and write names.  Just a fun little touch that I’d never have bothered with back in the days when I frequently had 14 or more for holiday dinners.

The food went like this:

The traditional, of course–turkey, gravy, stuffing, cranberry sauce (homemade by Linda), mashed white potatoes (Linda again), sweet potatoes with apples, nuts and marshmallows (no picture, due to slightly burnt m’mallows), three vegetable casserole with cheese sauce, rolls (from Texas Roadhouse), apple crumb and pumpkin pies eaten with the homemade caramel sauce and whipped cream.  We were stuffed, to put it bluntly, but happy.

A couple of these dishes are family favorites here.  The yam dish not pictured is one I’ve been making for many years and is simply canned yams layered with apples, and a mixture of pecans, brown sugar and cinnamon, dotted with butter and when finished baking (covered), topped with mini marshmallows and broiled for a couple of minutes.  The name of this dish is “Apple Mallow Yam Yum” and it is quite fitting.  Brother Dave doesn’t care for sweet potatoes, so we get to indulge in mashed whites, also, and who doesn’t love that?

The other one that is a Sawyer family fave is the Three Vegetable Casserole.  Been making this for over 30 years and even people who don’t usually care for one or more of these veggies loves it.  Frozen broccoli florets, cauliflower and brussels sprouts, topped with a mixture of condensed soup (we like cream of mushroom, cr. of chicken, or cr. of celery) and Cheese Whiz ((I know, but it’s the only time we eat this particular junky food), melted together.  You bake at fairly high temp for 30 minutes with foil or a lid over top and then uncover and top with bread crumbs and bake another 30 minutes.  Even when my kids were little, they loved it.

The food was great, but the company was even better.  We enjoyed having brother, Dave, his wife, Linda, my oldest and youngest children here.  We played Scrabble in teams, and even though David and Scott’s team won (not surprising), the scores were not that far apart.  We must have had well-matched teams.  It was great fun and followed by the pies.  By nine o’clock, I was ready for sleeping, but forced myself to stay up later so I could visit with my daughter, whose company I thoroughly enjoyed.

Friday, Julee and I got to spend the afternoon making cookies.  Our family’s favorite is Chocolate Bits and we made a batch of Chocolate Chip, too. Husband thoroughly enjoyed this, even though he was in another room.  Guess why.  Maybe it’s because, by the time we actually finished the baking, Julee and I had only tried one each of each cookie type, while Jim had sampled several…of each.

We each wound up with a large canister of cookies and kept a dozen aside for my son.  Wasn’t that nice of us?  🙂 Actually, if he found out we made dozens of his favorite cookie and didn’t save him any, there might be repercussions 🙂

Tonight is leftover night for Jim and me.  Such a chore, but has to be done 😉 Hope everyone’s family time was as good as ours.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Julee
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 17:06:17

    I had a great time too, and as always, the food was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

