Experimental veggie burgers

I promised myself that I’d try a new grain (technically a very ancient grain) and got a chance to do that last week while doing all the Turkey Day cooking.  I cooked up the grain while other things were going, and while I was chopping up all the celery, onions and such for the stuffing, I also chopped some of them up and added them to the grains.

Following a recipe I found on the web, I made us some quinoa patties.  They saute in a small amount of olive oil (I used a non-stick pan) and take about the same amount of time to cook as a thick hamburger.  Here is what they looked like:

Not bad, actually.  My husband thought they actually had a texture similar to burgers made of ground beef, but they were definitely bland tasting and needed some help.  I seasoned them with several spices, salt and pepper of course, celery, onion, egg, and shredded cheddar cheese.  They are small patties, so we placed them on dinner rolls and called them “sliders.”  We added some mayo (or thousand island dressing) and a slice of tomato, and they really were okay.  Nothing to get excited about, but definitely something we could both add to our list of acceptable foods for a non-meat meal–occasionally.  Neither one of us is going to give up meat (unless we suddenly can’t GET any, LOL!), but this is one thing we can handle once in a while. I will add some stronger seasonings next time.  Or more of the same ones.

Addendum 12/02/11:  I find another recipe for these that uses cottage cheese (yum) and chopped carrots or zuchini…sounds moist and yummy and I’ll try it next time.

I did promise photos of my Halloween costume, but I didn’t promise photos of myself wearing said garment.  The pictures were so awful I could not post them.  I deleted them from the camera and that is that.  I didn’t get to wear it for work anyway–long story I won’t bore you with, but here is my Little Red Riding Hood cape/hood:

I don’t know why these pictures make it look pink–it was definitely a fire engine shade of red, with red braided trim.  The fabric was a polyester velour that was suede-like and easy to work with.  Maybe I’ll wear it sometime.  Or pass it along to someone who needs a fast costume.  Add a basket of muffins and some boots, a dirndl skirt and peasant blouse and it is a perfect costume for a younger person.  I just looked like someone made a mistake and put the grandmother of the story in Red’s Riding Hood.  (sigh—full disclosure.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannie
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 21:39:51

    I am lucky to have a Daughter who is a Chef. As for myself, I would like to wind down the cooking but I do like to eat! Your Veggie burgers do look good!

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 23:31:32

    Thanks, Jeannie, lucky you! I’m hoping to have more time to cook the way I would really like to when I retire (hoping for April 2013!)

Leave a Reply

