Tools and ‘quipment

I am so lucky that I have a husband who understands the need for the proper tools for the job, and not just in home repair and construction, but in any kind of production. If I say I need it, he says, “get it.” However, in this case I said, “You can make this, can’t you?” and he said, “Yes!”

This is a reversible ironing board used for sewing doll clothes. I saw one for sale online and thought that the price was reasonable, but why buy it when he can make it with scrap wood and I can certainly sew the covers myself. So here is what we made:

Doll clothes ironing board

This is going to make pressing in those small spaces so much easier and I won’t have to keep the larger ironing board set up during the construction.

If anyone wants to buy one of these, I can’t help you because the Etsy seller who originally had them, no longer has any up for sale. So glad I could at least still find the picture in her gallery so we could model ours the same. If I had it to do over again, I’d make it shorter….less space between the boards…but it’s still fine. I’d say the larger board is about 15″ long and the smaller one about 12″ Both boards are covered in several thin layers of cotton batting (like you would use for quilting) and then a double layer of muslin with a drawstring to hold it on tightly.

We are going to the camper on Thursday (yay!) and after we return on June 2, I can get started on making some American Girl doll clothes for my craft business. I. Can’t. Wait. For both things–the camping vacation AND the doll clothes making.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris Phillips
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 00:00:10

    Hi there Chickadee! I am the Etsy seller who makes these boards. Nice job on the copy. You are mistaken, though. I still sell these and several other pressing tools in my Etsy shop. Please feel free to visit me at Simply 18 Inches!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Simply18Inches

  2. chickadeeworkshop
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 23:50:13

    Thanks for posting, Kris. When I had last checked your site, there were none available. Hope my (few) readers will find you if they are interested. I’m sure yours is a great product.

Leave a comment